It’s pancake day babeeeeee

Although I grew up cooking perfect crepes, American pancakes have always been hit and miss in my kitchen. Until about a month ago that is…

…as I work weekends I always pick the one day when I’m off to make a nice breakfast and have it with my guys and Lill guy woke up one day and asked me to make pancakes – and by that I mean, he asked me if he could come to the kitchen to make pancakes with me.

How would I say no to the cutest request ever? No-Way, that’s how!

Hoping to avoid a flop – AKA heavy, stodgy, thin boring pancakes – I took it to google once again. Only this time I came across what would turn out to be my GO TO recipe. 

FLUFFY PANCAKES

3/4 cup of milk 

2 tbsp white vinegar ( I use apple cider vinegar) or lemon juice

1 cup of flour ( I use Spelt flour but that’s a preference thing)

2 tbsp of sugar ( I use coconut sugar and add some vanilla powder too!)

2 tbsp butter  (melted) – you can also use oil

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp bicarb of soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 egg

oil for the pan

  • Combine milk with vinegar in a medium bowl and set aside for 5 minutes to “sour”.
  • Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a large mixing bowl. Whisk egg and butter into “soured” milk. Pour the flour mixture into the wet ingredients and whisk until lumps are gone.
  • I chose to use 2 small frying pans ( I use the ceramic quoted ones as that way I need less oil but I know my american friends would tell me off as you should use a heavy skillet) over medium heat, and coat with cooking spray or your preferred oil (organic sunflower in my case). Pour 1/4 cupfuls of batter onto the skillet, and cook until bubbles appear on the surface. Flip with a spatula, and cook until browned on the other side – you don’t want it to overcook so leave it for no more than 30 seconds. 

following the recipe as it is, I get 8 good size pancakes, the portion is big enough to feed my little family (2 adults and a hungry 4 years old).

Top it with maple syrup and a fried egg and your day will be just fab!

Please note that I have shamelessly copied the recipe from All Recipes

Boom!!! I just dropped some knowledge \o/\o/\o/\o/ (gangster mum song!)

Leave a Reply

